PSL set for 2016-17 Season

The 12th edition of the England Squash Premier Squash League kicks off this month, with ten teams battling it out to be crowned champions of the world’s most prestigious squash league.

SP_17227Defending Champions Virgin Active VA Surrey HRC will be aiming to win the title for the eighth time, but first will need to finish in the top two in Group B, which also contains their local rivals and runners-up for the last two years, St George’s Hill.

Also in group B are former champions (in the days when the event was called the National Squash League, for the previous 21 seasons) Team Chichester, newcomers Bexley and Coolhurst London, who will face less travelling this season after spending their first two seasons in Group A.

SP_17229UWE/Elite Squash Bristol move from Group B to A, where they face opposition from Birmingham University, Everards Leicester, Nottingham and Pontefract.

Missing this year – hopefully on a temporary basis – are former champions Duffield, Exeter and Winchester.

The first round takes place on Tue 18th October, the first of ten rounds of league matches to decide which teams reach the playoffs.

Another change sees the playoff stages moved to a single weekend, where the top two teams in each Group will play semi-finals followed by the final.

Group A:

Leicester, Birmingham, Bristol, Nottingham, Pontefract

Group B:

Chichester, Coolhurst, Bexley, St George’s, Surrey

Round One, Tue 18th October:

Group A:  Leicester v Nottingham, Birmingham v Bristol

Group B: Chichester v St George’s, Coolhurst v Bexley

 Full 2016/17 Fixtures